Needle in a Haystack

Dear Staff,

If you need some files recovering from the backups, and I ask you which folder they were in, replying with “The Staff drive” is not especially helpful.

There are over 54,000 folders on the Staff drive, in a complex hierarchy that covers every area of the school. I know you only use 3 of those folders, but expecting me to somehow work out which 3 they are is practically expecting clairvoyance.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to “Needle in a Haystack”

  1. The_Crust says :

    I think most of us have been there and got that AT.

    Another one that always raises a frustrated smile is “can you recover the file I just closed without saving?”

  2. FrustratedTech says :

    Or rescuing a file attachment they’ve edited in an email and not actually saved into their My Documents.

  3. scaryman says :

    I have to say ‘Service Level Agreement’; unless you’ve got an army of suitably trustworthy little helpers, there is no way that IT, Technical Support, whatever you call it, has got the time to do this. Your users need to learn what is realistic with the staffing levels you have.

  4. joe90bass says :

    @frustrated, I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve had that one…….

  5. DigitalDon says :

    Better than them saying the ‘S’ drive

  6. Duane Gordon says :

    Very frustrating! It’s like the doctor asking what’s wrong, and the patient responding, “I don’t feel well”…..