Indistinguishable

Today, due to a frankly ridiculous series of catastrophes, I have two different couriers picking up two different boxes for two different destinations.

The boxes look identical to one another, and contain almost identical cargo.

What odds can I get that they will take the wrong ones?

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “Indistinguishable”

  1. TheCrust says :

    A better trick will be to see if you can get them delivered back to you.

    I had to return a dead server drive to HP under warranty last year – it was boxed up, the shipping label was clearly and securely attached to the box, and I left it in the main office with a post-it note on it explaining the courier would collect it.

    The courier collected it…

    …and returned it to me two days later, complete with the post-it still attached to the box!

  2. ScottishTech says :

    This wouldn’t happen to be HP warranty-cover replacement returns, would it?

    I had a similar fiasco a while back where an HP server was exhibiting some “issues”, and over the course of several days(!) of attempted hardware swaps, I ended up with 3 boxes of parts to return – all to different addresses.

    Suggestions such as 1 courier coming to pick up all 3 boxes were met with derision, so I was forced to make 3 individual phone calls to arrange the collection of each box.

    To compound matters, each of the 3 couriers arriving onsite (2 on the same day within an hour of each other) had no idea what they were actually coming to collect – making the 1001 questions asked such as weight, content, barcodes etc when logging each individual pickup all a little pointless, it would seem.

    Either the law of averages were in my favour or the couriers just left it with HP to sort out, but I didn’t receive any “where are our parts?!?!” follow-up calls..

  3. Amadeus Phoenix says :

    I had a courier turn up for a broken HDD (with practically no warning) and refuse to take it not in a box. Time for the biggest box possible… and no packing materials, too.

  4. Chris Shields says :

    Been there, done that, sent a £250 APC management card back to Dell (rather than Insight) instead of a Hard Disk for warranty replacement!

    Told the support rep I was dealing with about the cock-up, he unfortunately didn’t come back to me about it so we were a considerable sum of money out of pocket.

  5. Joshua Wells says :

    I’m saddened that there’s not a single “Get Me Hennimore!” reference from “That Mitchell and Webb Look”. Even worse, it had to be an American (me) pointing it out. :)