Not For Production Use

Recently spotted this while my home workstation was booting. It appears for a second, right before the POST screen, and is output by the MSI GeForce GTX 550 Ti I have installed:

Engineering Release - Not For Production Use

What the hell, MSI?!

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Not For Production Use”

  1. Chris Shields says :

    I bought a Gigabyte GA-E350N-USB3 AMD Fusion Mini-ITX board recently for a HTPC setup i’m building, during which I had problems getting a TV card to work.

    In trying to troubleshoot, I removed the POST logo to find that I apparently have an Engineering Sample. Right, that’s probably why the card doesn’t work then!

    A Bios update did actually sort it, but what a shock really.

  2. John says :

    Must admit I have had that myself, had a load of Biostart boards with Engineering Release BIOS’s on them, raised it with the supplier and it was correct just never had the engineering release tag taken off them but those machines were never 100% right I found.