How to fix a ‘User information is disabled’ error on the Canon imageRUNNER Remote UI

This was a pretty weird one, and Google didn’t turn up anything useful, so hopefully this will help anyone with the same problem in future.

Issue

When logging into the Remote UI of a Canon imageRUNNER in System Manager Mode, I got the following message right after entering the System Manager ID and Password, and could not proceed any further:

User information is disabled. This operation cannot be accepted. User certification is invalid or date expired. Update page.

The problem affected 3 out of 10 of my new printers. All the new printers had replaced existing printers, and I had reused their IP addresses and hostnames. I soon realised that the 3 affected had replaced the 3 Kyocera Mita printers I had, and that all the unaffected printers had replaced different makes.

When I logged in using a different browser, the problem did not occur, so I realised it was something specific to my normal Firefox profile.

Solution

I discovered that the web interface of the previous Kyocera Mita printers had set a cookie named rtl which was the cause of the problem. Removing this cookie for each of the affected printers immediately resolved the problem.

rtl cookie

Tags: , ,

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to “How to fix a ‘User information is disabled’ error on the Canon imageRUNNER Remote UI”

  1. rvdmast says :

    Perhaps one more reason to make your browser clear cookies at logoff/close ?

  2. Nicholas Piasecki says :

    ZOMG! You sir win the Internets for this one. Thanks so much for taking the time to post this.

  3. John Wright says :

    I really appreciate your discovery my good man, I have been having this issue for a while myself and never considered cookies as the culprit since I never replaced these machines, it’s the first thing to do with IE!

    Stay Angry!!

  4. Justin says :

    Thank you so much for this solution. Canon’s manual and most of the rest of the internet was bloody useless in resolving this issue.

  5. Luca says :

    Congratulation also from me on this discovery. I too had this problem, and I thought it was something wrong on the Canon. For me the solution was using firefox from an Ubuntu machine, no luck with IE even with deleting cookies. Still you pointed me in the right direction, great job.

  6. Janet Lewis says :

    Also if you have Firefox, this will happen if you have Tools > Options > Privacy > “Tell sites that I do not want to be tracked” you will get this error. Change it to one of the other two choices (“Do not tell sites anything about my tracking preferences” is probably best).