Glad I Could Help

The office phone rings.

“Hello?”

“Hi, I’m in the IT lab and I’ve got the projector on, but it says ‘no signal’, is there something I need to do on the computer?”

“Look to your right. What do you see?”

“The wall?”

“And on the wall?”

“There’s a bit of paper that says How to switch the computer onto the proj… oh. Right. Oops.”

“Glad I could help.”

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

4 responses to “Glad I Could Help”

  1. Dale says :

    “Look to your right. What do you see?”

    I couldn’t help thinking of the old text based adventures…. :-)

    • ChrisCubed says :

      “Connect the projector”
      You don’t know how to connect the projector
      “Look around”
      You see a wall
      “Look at wall”
      You see a bit of paper
      “Look at paper”
      You see instructions for how to connect the projector
      “Connect the projector”
      The projector is now connected!

  2. Tim says :

    Syntax error.

  3. ScottishTech says :

    If it’s anything like my experience of text adventures on my beloved Speccy, it’d be:

    Look
    You are in a large room with computers. You see a projector on the roof and a panel on the wall

    Examine projector
    You can’t reach it
    Examine panel
    You can’t see it
    Examine wall
    You see a panel
    Examine panel
    The panel has several ports, one marked VGA, one marked Audio Left, one marked Audio Right
    I thought you said you couldn’t see the panel?!!
    I don’t understand
    You stupid game
    I don’t understand
    [obscenity1]
    That’s not very nice
    [obscenity2]
    That’s not very nice
    [obscenity3]
    I don’t understand
    gehegehygeug
    I don’t understand

    (Speccy’s power cable gets unplugged at the back as I confirm my lack of patience with text adventures is still as powerful as ever)