No more spreadsheets. Long live spread sheets!

Really, Microsoft? This is a spelling mistake? The dictionary term that you use on your own website to describe the function of Excel is marked as a spelling mistake?

Yes, we’ve been here before with the grammar checker. But this is just depressing.

Tags: ,

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

9 responses to “No more spreadsheets. Long live spread sheets!”

  1. Daniel Beardsmore says :

    I remember when “website” wasn’t considered a real word by Office 98’s spellcheck. I’ve encountered a number of words that were rejected for no reason.

    Before that, I used to blame the spellcheck for not recognising words I’d made up, like “reinstation” instead of “reinstatement”. Wait … both of those /are/ real words … maybe I was right after all? Or that isn’t the word I thought the computer didn’t like. That was a long time ago now … Microsoft Publisher 2 I think that was, or Word 6. You know, the same version of Word that everyone has now, below multiple layers of fresh paint and new veneer.

    (Blender, though, lets you find any command by hitting space and typing its name; any shortcut defined for it is presented in the list of results. Now if the ribbon could do that, I would be impressed, except then I wouldn’t waste my time with that contraption instead, when I could run any command without needing to dig through a muddle of ribbon tabs. If MS can’t even figure out what the File menu is called (Word 2010 uses “File” while Windows 7 has some weird pictogram, and yes this did completely confuse someone), I doubt they’re going to invest time in such matters as putting “spreadsheet” into the dictionary, or putting DHCP warnings and errors into the DHCP-Server event log where one would reasonably expect to find them when there’s a suggestion that DHCP may not be working properly (they still go in the System log; the DHCP-Server log only contains enough bumf to mislead you into thinking that all is well).)

  2. ScottishTech says :

    Curiously, Word and Excel 2003 are quite happy with Spreadsheet

  3. Steve says :

    Ditto Word 2007 – with the UK dictionary installed at any rate.

  4. Steve says :

    sorry, I meant to clarify that Word 2007 was happy with ‘spreadsheet’, as per ScottishTech, not that it flagged it as incorrect – realised my last comment could have been taken either way…

  5. sakthi says :

    Thanks! Work upgraded to Office 2010 recently and I thought it had to be Word being silly, not me.
    This post is second only to Wikipedia in the Google search result for “spreadsheet or spread sheet?”

  6. Frustrated says :

    If Microsoft aims to confuse users with menues, navigation etc. in every new release of an established product, they are quite successful. It can be very anoying to look for something as simple as File menue and find it under some weird pictogram. Makes no sence at all.

  7. wide says :

    The one that annoys me is its refusal to accept ‘staff’ as a compound plural. E.g. “staff should be reminded to …” Word will always try and change it to “staffs should be reminded to…”

  8. ScottishTech says :

    Word 2003 seems happy enough.

    “Staff should be reminded to go home at the end of the day.”

    Passes F7 and there’s no on-screen highlights..

    and

    “I said that staff should be reminded to go home at the end of the day.”

    is also OK.

    Maybe it’s a 2007 on thing? We’re still in ye olde 2003 because every training note that starts with “Click File” will need to be rewritten for 2010 as near as I can tell?

  9. Skicc says :

    If I type into the google search box “spread sheet” and press enter it writes to me “Did you mean: spreadsheet” so i don’t need more…