How many teachers does it take to turn on a projector?

Question: How many teachers does it take to turn on a projector?

Answer: Three.

  • One to claim it’s broken when they try to get their presentation working 2 minutes after assembly starts,
  • one to send a student to fetch the technician, and
  • one to tell the technician that they’ve now found the remote as soon as he arrives.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

7 responses to “How many teachers does it take to turn on a projector?”

  1. Tim says :

    Trollolololol!

  2. Alyn says :

    Sounds about right – the usual one is that’s not turned on at the wall!

  3. chris says :

    Thought the answer was going to be:

    None – it’s a technical support problem.

  4. ScottishTech says :

    4 for me at the last presentation.

    1 to phone my room every 10 seconds
    1 to walk round to my room
    1 to walk round to my colleague’s room on the offchance that I’m there
    1 to come running after me in a blubbering mess asking what do I mean “That’s a Mac laptop, so I’ve no idea what’s wrong with it. I’ve poked and prodded about a bit, but this is what we mean when we say we support Windows 7 and XP”

  5. Vialli says :

    Haha, I can identify with this so much. A common one for me is to get a phone call from the CX office, 15-30 mins into a meeting full of tutting highly paid Council Officers complaining that the presentation they have bought in on a USB stick won’t work. Yeah, that will be device lock blocking it, implemented as a security protocol by, er, you the Chief Executive.

  6. Steve says :

    Also, how many does it take to turn it off again? Usually zero it seems.
    I’m getting a bit tired of noticing on my way home at 7pm that the meeting room next to my office has been left with the door open, lights on, laptop and projector sitting there, switched on, for anyone to come and help themselves to (particularly when day==Friday) and bulb life reduced by another 4 hours or so.

    Do they think that projector-fairies are going to magically come and turn everything off and lock the door with the key that they have signed out after they have shuffled off to lunch?

    (ok, this is academics and conferences rather than teachers, but at least with teachers you mightexpect the classroom will be used by someone in the next hour – here, a teaching/meeting room might not be used for days)

  7. ScottishTech says :

    I really wish this was an isolated incident…

    InService day. 9:00 – 20 minute presentation to department. Rest of the day – doing whatever teachers do on InService Days in that room that mercifully doesn’t involve IT usage. 17:00 – projector still on and teacher remarks to me that her eyes were sore from the glare of the projector. I don’t think she understood my query about switching it off using the remote – apparently she was really busy. Words fail me.

    I’m just glad I’m not responsible for the replacement of projector bulbs (either in cost or installation) as I suspect my fury would make me unpopular.

    A colleague informed me that one of our other High schools in the authority changed its bulb replacement policy about 6 months ago. Previously the cost of the bulbs came out of a central “pool” – it now comes directly out of the department’s budget. Which seems remarkably like common sense to me?

    Surprise surprise, the number of projectors left on over the last 6 months has divebombed.