Dear iWork users

Stop sending your stupid Pages files to people via email.

Some of us use computers for actual work and not just dicking around, so we have Windows computers. Even those die-hard Mac users who actually do work on them tend to install OpenOffice or buy Office for Mac, rather than use iWork.

I’m tired of trying to convert your documents for you because our staff have no idea what to do with them, so either sort your Mac out with a proper office suite or BUY A REAL COMPUTER.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

18 responses to “Dear iWork users”

  1. hazymatt says :

    Lovely.

    Wholeheartedly agree. Cue flames / lots of people who disagree…

  2. Dan Martin says :

    Love it!!! (not iWork… The post!)

  3. Andrew Z Carpenter (@azc) says :

    I blame the rise of the iPad, for which Pages is the most popular word processor.

    On that note, if anyone here can recommend a decent replacement word processor for iPad, I’d love to hear it.

  4. Robert says :

    Heh. I’d leave an anecdote about this but there are just too many.

  5. Leigh says :

    Well there isn’t a decent Office Suite for iOS yet although the new Web Apps on Office 365 are looking like a promising alternative and provide a glimpse at a native version of Office on IOS. We just need MS to get it out there, but that will not be anytime soon unfortunately.

    • The Angry Technician says :

      In the case of iOS, I stand by my second suggestion: buy a real computer.

      • Leigh says :

        LOL indeed you are right. The tech press are full of the death of the PC, but there is no substitute for it when it comes to doing anything remotely productive.

  6. ScottishTech says :

    Amen, brother!!

    Teacher: “I NEED an IPad”
    Me: “You NEED one, eh? OK, it’s Friday afternoon and I simply cannot be arsed arguing with you or the various senior people you’ve managed to convince of this madness. Fine.. Just be pre-warned that we don’t support the Mac or any of its ilk, so don’t ask for any help in any shape or form. Got that? No support. At all. None. Nada. Zilch”

    [1 week later]

    Helpdesk call1: “I need to purchase this app for my IPad”

    Helpdesk call2: “I need to convert this file from my IPad. This is essential for the curriculum – nay – the general wellbeing of my pupils, and they’ll probably fail all their exams and might even get abducted by a rapid mongoose if it isn’t done. No, really”

    Helpdesk call3: “How do I convert the files used in the classroom onto my IPad?”

    Helpdesk call4: “How do I connect my IPad so I can see it on the interactive whiteboard in my room”

    Action: Close Calls at roughly the speed of light, peppering call closures with phrases like “As advised several times now”, “Not supported”, “Cretin”, “Online purchasing not permitted”, “No wireless”, “Don’t ask again” in no particular order.

    (You can, of course, replace “IPad” with “Android tablet” – it has much the same effect)

  7. Lewys says :

    I’m definitely in agreement despite being a Mac user.

    I have Office for Mac at home and refuse to do anything for staff and students who use Pages or Numbers.

    iWork is a croc – Mac Fanboi, 2013

    Pages on the iPad is more than capable of saving and importing .doc files.

  8. Mark Scholes says :

    If only there was a standard for formatting text, perhaps one that was wildly popular online, some kind of markup language.

    • ScottishTech says :

      Nah – that’d never happen. And were it ever to exist, various folk would just balls it up and you’d end up with documents with nothing more than “Hello” having warnings about needing to upgrade your – erm – markup reader application.

  9. Timmy Park says :

    We get people sending in CV’s in the Pages format, which always come my way because people in HR don’t know what to do with them. I always reply stating not to employ them, since if they cannot send in a CV in an easily readable format, they don’t deserve a job!

  10. Paul says :

    Rename .pages to .zip, and you may find an embedded .pdf of the document. Only preview quality, but better than nowt.

  11. rainer_d says :

    I dabbled with Pages on an iPad at an Apple-store. It’s not so bad, using the provided templates.
    I wouldn’t want to write a scientific paper or my thesis on it – but then, how many people actually write long documents?
    I don’t share your general criticism of iWork. It’s not expensive and comes with some nice templates.

    • ScottishTech says :

      I think the main criticism here is that although it’s not expensive and comes with some nice templates (possibly why folk buy it in the first place) – it isn’t compatible with the product used in AT’s place of work (or by the sounds of it, most other places).

      It then – apparently – becomes the Technician’s job to try to support the wretched thing by converting documents.

      It’s a bit like our dark days of Claris/Appleworks still being used a couple of years after MS Office had been selected as the standard – erm – office suite.

  12. Techguy32 says :

    I work in a school that’s all Apple Mac, so feel my pain!

  13. Kink says :

    Be more friendly, instead of beeing you making the convertion make the original owner do it, simply you’re life, they have the “oldest option in the book” :P

    • The Angry Technician says :

      If the original document owner had any clue about converting the document they’d have done it the first time and we wouldn’t be in this situation time and time again…