What they say, and what they mean

They say: “I don’t think anyone really understands how this is going to work.”
They mean: “I don’t understand how this works.”

They say: “A boy in my class was looking at naked girls on one of the computers.”
They mean: “I typed ‘naked girls’ into Google and the filter caught it, so I need a cover story in case the technician looks into it.”

They say “If you can help me out with this, I will be eternally grateful.”
They mean: “I will be grateful for about ten minutes.”

They say: “I’m trying to crop this picture but it isn’t working.”
They mean: “I have absolutely no idea how to crop pictures that aren’t on my phone.”

They say: “I’m concerned about what other people think about this.”
They mean: “I don’t like this.”

They say: “None of my class are getting sound out of their headphones.”
They mean: “Two of my class are not getting sound, I haven’t checked the others.”

They say: “I think we might find the laptop keyboard a bit small.”
They mean: “I want a more expensive laptop with a bigger screen.”

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “What they say, and what they mean”

  1. Jason says :

    Well said. Its an everyday occurrence that we here stuff like that said.

  2. thingsiloveaboutrhona says :

    They say “I’ve tried everything”
    They mean “I’ve tried nothing”

  3. enduserslol says :

    They say: “The internet isn’t working”
    They mean: Their computer won’t boot up.

  4. mark says :

    They say: “My documents…”
    They mean: “My music collection, torrented movies, and vacation photos…”

  5. Wallace says :

    They say “I saved it in my recent documents”
    They mean “I have no idea of how to organise my files and use any form of coherent directory structure”